LEGO Gender Confusion: Hunter or Huntress?

Male or Female?

I’ve engaged in many debates with my 8-year-old son Ari over the years about the gender of various cartoon characters. He insists that Tweety Bird is female because of “her” long eyelashes. Nothing will change my son’s mind, no matter how much evidence I provide. (Actually, I have no evidence to settle this issue either way, but I just know that Tweety is an effeminate male).

Now, in preparation for a Herald column on the economic lessons of LEGOs, I’ve been mired in another debate. Is the “Mystery Minifigure” above a male or female tribal hunter?

Yes, I know that Native American men wear braids, but this character just looks like an earthy-crunchy Indian babe to me — the kind of person who would order a spinach-bran bagel at the Earthfoods Cafe at UMass-Amherst.

How good are you at LEGO gender identification? Please put your vote (and reasoning) in the comment section below and then click here for the official answer!

4 Comments

Filed under LEGO Gender Confusion

4 responses to “LEGO Gender Confusion: Hunter or Huntress?

  1. I think it’s a male, because of the bow. (I hope this doesn’t get me in trouble with Gloria Steinem.)

  2. I imagine it’s a man…if it was a lady, wouldn’t they have given her ridiculous red lips?

  3. I’m inclined to agree with Ilya, though for what it’s worth, I had my own bow and arrows for years when I was growing up, and I’m definitely not male. :-)

  4. matt

    Sylvester the cat used to dress his thumb up as a female Tweety to entice Tweety himself, which suggests that Sylvester at least thinks he’s male.

Leave a Reply

